Language

#43 · QS Data Science and AI 2026

The University of Texas at Austin

The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin) is in Austin, Texas, USA. AI is studied at the new School of Computing, which brings together computer science, statistics and data science, and the School of Information, and in the interdisciplinary Texas Robotics program. We list five AI programs from the university's site, and three of them can be taken online.

Programs

Language, length and tuition as UT Austin states them on its own pages.

Bachelor's

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, Machine Learning & Artificial Intelligence concentrationNot statedOn campusNot statedProgram page

Master's

Master's of Artificial Intelligence (online)English18 to 36 months10,000 USD for the programProgram page
Master's of Data Science (online)English18 to 36 months10,000 USD for the programProgram page

Certificate

Graduate Certificate in Artificial Intelligence and Machine LearningEnglish6 to 18 months5,000 USD for the programProgram page
Texas Robotics Graduate Portfolio ProgramNot statedOn campusNot statedProgram page

Research labs

What to know

The Artificial Intelligence Laboratory in the Department of Computer Science opened in 1983. Today it has seven faculty members across the core areas of AI and about 50 PhD students, working on machine learning, knowledge representation and reasoning, and robotics. Source

The university merged computer science, statistics and data science, and the School of Information into one School of Computing. According to the school, it has more than 20,000 alumni, and its students come from more than 70 countries. Source

The university calls its online master's in AI one of the first fully online programs at this level. It has 10 courses, and only one is required: AI ethics. Tuition is 10,000 USD for the whole program, whatever your citizenship. Source

The Machine Learning Laboratory brings together more than 60 faculty and researchers. Texas Robotics works in the rebuilt Anna Hiss Gymnasium, which has a training apartment for service robots and an operating room for surgical robotics. Source

Admission for international students

International undergraduate applicants have a dedicated page: you apply through the Common App, the early deadline is October 15 and the regular deadline is December 1, with regular decisions by February 15, 2027. A separate page for international students explains who needs a TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo English Test score, and the application fee is 90 USD. For the online programs, the rules and language requirements are in the FAQ section at cdso.utexas.edu. Source

Checked against the university's own pages on October 16, 2026.

We use cookies

We collect anonymous usage data to understand how MOZGII is used and improve your experience. No data is collected without your permission. Privacy Policy · Cookie Policy