Language

#42 · QS Data Science and AI 2026

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) sits in the twin cities of Urbana and Champaign, Illinois, USA. AI lives in the Siebel School of Computing and Data Science, part of The Grainger College of Engineering, and in several national AI institutes on campus. We list 5 programs: three master's degrees in computer science and robotics, a bachelor's degree in statistics and computer science, and a PhD.

Programs

Language, length and tuition as UIUC states them on its own pages.

Bachelor's

B.S. Statistics & Computer ScienceNot stated4 years on the sample plan of study47,800 USD for the 2026-2027 academic yearProgram page

Master's

Master of Computer Science (MCS) in Urbana-ChampaignNot stated3 semesters or more40,444 USD for the 2026-2027 academic yearProgram page
Master of Computer Science Online (Data Science Track, MCS-DS)Not stated1 to 5 yearsNot statedProgram page
Master of Engineering in Autonomy & Robotics (M.Eng.)Not statedNot stated40,444 USD for the 2026-2027 academic yearProgram page

PhD

Ph.D. in Computer ScienceNot statedNot statedNot statedProgram page

Free courses

Published by UIUC for anyone, at no cost.

Research labs

What to know

The Siebel School has an AI research group. It works on computer vision, audio recognition, natural language processing, machine learning and robotics. Source

The Grainger College of Engineering says it has raised nearly 270 million USD for AI projects and programs since 2019. The money goes to uses of AI in agriculture, education and medicine. Source

The survey course CS 440 / ECE 448 Artificial Intelligence keeps an open website with its syllabus: search, knowledge representation and inference, machine learning, and natural language understanding. Source

The university runs its online master's in computer science with Coursera: lectures are on the platform, while assignments, projects and exams are graded by university faculty and teaching assistants. Applications for spring semester 2027 are accepted until October 30. Source

Admission for international students

Requirements for international applicants to master's and PhD programs are published on the Graduate College page. It lists the accepted English tests and minimum scores, for example IELTS Academic 7.5 for full admission and 6.5 for conditional admission. The Siebel School sets its own deadlines: PhD and M.S. applications for the fall semester are due by December 1, and the on-campus MCS for fall by May 1. Source

Checked against the university's own pages on October 16, 2026.

We use cookies

We collect anonymous usage data to understand how MOZGII is used and improve your experience. No data is collected without your permission. Privacy Policy · Cookie Policy