Language

#12 · QS Data Science and AI 2026

Peking University

Peking University is in Beijing, China. AI is taught at the School of Intelligence Science and Technology, the School of Computer Science and the Institute for Artificial Intelligence, which brings together faculty from different schools. In the admission catalogs for international students we found 5 AI programs, and we list them: a master's and a PhD taught in English, a master's and a PhD taught in Chinese, and an undergraduate class in intelligence science.

Programs

Language, length and tuition as Peking University states them on its own pages.

Bachelor's

智能科学与技术专业实验班(智班)Not statedOn campusNot statedProgram page

Master's

Computer Science and Technology (081200), research field: Artificial Intelligence (Master)English2 to 3 yearsNot statedProgram page
智能科学与技术 (Intelligence Science and Technology, 140500), 硕士Chinese2 to 3 yearsNot statedProgram page

PhD

Computer Science and Technology (081200), research field: Artificial Intelligence (PhD)English4 to 5 yearsNot statedProgram page
智能科学与技术 (Intelligence Science and Technology, 140500), 博士Chinese4 to 5 yearsNot statedProgram page

Research labs

What to know

In 2002 the university opened China's first department of intelligence science. By 2007 it offered bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in the field, and in 2021 it created the School of Intelligence Science and Technology. Source

The Institute for Artificial Intelligence was founded on April 27, 2019 as an independent unit of the university. More than 200 faculty members research AI at Peking University, in fields from computer science and math to psychology, medicine, philosophy and law. Source

The School of Intelligence Science and Technology has 34 faculty members, 16 of them professors. In October 2022, together with the Beijing Institute for General Artificial Intelligence, it set up a national laboratory for general artificial intelligence. Source

The undergraduate Intelligence Science Class opened on September 17, 2022 with a first cohort of 28 students. The curriculum covers vision, language, cognitive models, robots, machine learning and multi-agent systems. Source

Admission for international students

International students are admitted to master's and doctoral programs through an "application plus exam" process run by the international students office. A master's takes 2 to 3 years, a PhD 4 to 5 years. For the 2026 intake, applications were accepted from October 20 to December 23, 2025, and English-taught programs required a TOEFL iBT score of 100 or higher or a GRE score of 315 or higher. Source

Checked against the university's own pages on October 16, 2026.

We use cookies

We collect anonymous usage data to understand how MOZGII is used and improve your experience. No data is collected without your permission. Privacy Policy · Cookie Policy